Too Many Dresses

doctor of romcoms, twee as fuck

Round-Up

on February 6, 2009

A rather belated round-up (due to illness and snow) of my weekend, which was spent in Shropshire, taking hideously long walks in nice countryside (5 and a half miles – or 8.8km – along muddy bridlepaths, abandoned quarries, dense spooky forests (complete with dilapidated and faded ‘BEWARE BLASTING’ sign nailed to a tree) and country lanes; and sat in front of the television. As such, I didn’t get an awful lot of work done, but it was still a weekend well-spent.

Sky1’s LOST, now into the 3rd episode of the fifth and penultimate season, proved a stimulating yet mind-bending watch as always this Sunday. I can only hope, for humanity’s sake, that I am not alone in particularly enjoying Desmond/Penny-centric episodes, which this one, “Jughead”, proved to be. It opened with a particularly thrilling scene for us ‘shippers, in which Penny gave birth to a baby boy (named, as we learn later, Charlie; a nod, of course, to the probably deceased (one is never quite sure with Lost) Mancunian rock-star who warned good old Des that the freighter was ‘not Penny’s boat’, but also links quite intriguingly to Penny’s old man Charles Widmore, who, it is revealed, has not had any contact with her for the three years since Desmond got off the island). Phew, it’s already too complicated, and that’s just the teaser.

Things seemed to have settled down slightly on the island anyway, with slightly less of the arbitrary jumping around in time compared to last week’s two-part opener. There was a thrilling scene between Locke and Richard Alpert (a character that has intrigued me no-end and whom I’m hoping we will get some answers about very soon) that goes some way to explain Locke’s position within the timeline of the island and also heavily suggests that it was no accident that Flight 815 crashed on this island. But we knew that anyway…didn’t we? What we didn’t know is that Charles Widmore himself was once an ‘Other’, serving under Alpert. Gasp stutter whistle etc.

Daniel Faraday continues to become increasingly kick-ass in an Oxford-physician geek type way, and I’m guessing that the undetonated H-bomb will bring us closer to discovering the mysteries of the Hatch (which exploded at the end of series 2, if you care to remember that far back). The revelations are coming thick and fast, and, joyously, I think I can say hesitantly that we might actually be getting close to some answers. But probably not. What I do know is that it’s not worth me whinging about it, because I will still keep on watching it anyway. I have come this far, I’m determined to see it through!

Far less taxing, but no less enjoyable this weekend was the latest episode of BBC1’s Lark Rise To Candleford, a programme that has become somewhat of a guilty pleasure to me since my Mum introduced me to it over Christmas. Costume drama generally isn’t my thing, but I just love the parochial bliss of a society uninfiltrated by cars, investment banking and MySpace. At the series’s heart is an enduring warmth and humour – characterised in this episode by a particularly saucy gag involving a red ribbon – that is the perfect antidote to the recession blues. Yes, the residents of Lark Rise may suffer poverty and ill health, and the citizens of Candleford may indulge in petty quarrels and lofty aspirations of modernity, but each episode stresses the importance of family and community, values which we all know have suffered at the hands of late capitalist society. I’m not unaware of the slightly dubious conservatism of Lark Rise‘s message, but I can’t help but like it!

Leave a Reply

